Saturday, March 31, 2012

Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony

On Thursday, March 15, 2012, The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma welcomed several new members to the organization.

Founded in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma is the first national honor society in the business field and was established  to honor academic achievement in the field of business.  Today it is a society that provides the highest recognition a business student can receive in a baccalaureate or graduate program at an AACSB accredited school.

The event began with opening remarks from Michael A. Yahr, Professor of Management, and Sarah Rudy, Student Vice President of Beta Gamma Sigma.

While introducing new student inductees, the event also recognized three non-student Honorees with ties to Robert Morris University, Robert D. Jones, Dewitt Peart, and Dr. Allan Zeman. (shown in the first row below)

Student recipients consisted of 11 undergraduate students and graduate students.  Also awarded induction into the organization were Dr. Cathleen Jones and Ralph R. Reiland.

The reciting of the Beta Gamma Sigma ritual was led by Professor Potter, Dean Motley, and Professor Yahr.  All of the recipients were honored to be a part of this prestigious organization and look forward to the opportunities membership will bring.
Professor Ralph Reiland showing his appreciation with Professor Elwell, the Beta Gamma Sigma Mascot

 Written by Greg Chapman

No comments:

Post a Comment